Illustrations Part 1. Inspiration, Geoffrey Beene

I’ve been very nostalgic lately, and thought I would share some of my early illustrations. This grouping of illustrations was inspired by the monumental Geoffrey Beene.

256214

tumblr_lxbydsfPPO1qjgg4d

(That's Beene on the Left and Stella McCartney on the right)

(That’s Beene on the Left and Stella McCartney on the right)

The sketches were done in 2010, when I was very interested in Futurism, had I used this same inspiration today, I’m sure the designs would be much different, as I now consider myself a Minimalist.

Nonetheless, I think I was very much inspired by his use of bold cut-outs, and the negative space that they created. I would say that I turned those spaces into a 2-dimensional surface design.

The illustrations below were done in Micron Ink Pens and Marker.

AngelaBrugioniBeeneIllustrations1

AngelaBrugioniBeeneIllustrations2

AngelaBrugioniBeeneIllustration3

AngelaBrugioniBeeneIllustrations4

Leave a Reply

