Making-Up for Not Making-Up (my Make-Up)

Make up is totally fun.

There was a time, not long ago, that I didn’t wear make-up to most of the things I did. Like, I didn’t wear make-up to class, mostly because I went to an art school with all girls and gay boys, who (remarkably) judged me more on my quality of work than what I looked like every day. I’m still not sure which is a worse reason to be judged…

However, as I mentioned in a previous blog, I weighed about 20 lbs more (yuck!) at the time and preferred to pair my love for Bud Lights and chain-smoking with my boyfriend’s oversized flannels, Chuck Taylors, and Wayferers. I can say in all honesty, this wasn’t a very good look. Like seriously, ย I looked better in my Abercrombie and Fitch 7th grade sweat suit days then I did as an apathetic, hipster-ish, naked faced college student.

Before Pics, Circa 2009…
Literally… I drank Bud Lights and wore Flannels….

Now don’t get me wrong, some hipsters totally rock it, and I love it, while others don’t. Maybe I had the wrong hipster approach. Most successful hipsters are beautiful skinny chicks that can take themselves seriously while wearing vintage Mountain Dew shirts, flowery skirts and feathered moccasins.

Yikes! Some Stange and Scary Wardrobe Decisions! (I literally googled “hipster clothes” and these images came up!)

These looks were definitely not for me, and I decided that I couldn’t lie to myself anymore. I knew I wanted to be that polished, uber-serious, black on black wearing, Barney’s shopper, who accidentally spends $150 on lunch at Collichio and Sons. I mean, is there anything wrong with that?

I did a little ‘photoshop styling job’ and created one of my many, many “dream looks”…! Can you blame me for wanting these items? ย Sunglasses: Rayban Wayfarers, Blouse : Proenza Schouler Spring 2011, Pants : All Saints Fall 2012 Demin Collection, Shoes : Elizabeth and James, Bracelets : Alexis Bittar Lucite Collection
Now, if I only had an extra $2000 lying around!

So now, in order to make my superficial dreams a reality, I needed to take matters into my own hands. I decided to chuck my Chucks, and ditch the flannels. Obviously, I kept the Wayferers, because they will always be in style for everyone, anywhere, any way. Thank you Ray Ban. I made a pact with myself, that there would always be time to get ready, and a place to get ready for, even if it was just for the gym!

Because, let’s face it; you never know who you are going to bump into, meet, or greet. There’s no reason to not put your best foot forward all the time, because when you feel pretty, you feel good, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Incase you were wondering… I didn’t give up the Bud Lights completely, I just classed it up a bit.. ๐Ÿ™‚ !!

Leave a Reply

